A bit of crocheting…

To be honest, crochet has never been my forte.. I’m more a knitter person..

But when I saw the Beautiful Blogger Blanket 2013 competition on Stocki blog, I loved the idea so much that I  decided to brush up on my crocheting skills and make my modest contribution.

I used this cotton yarn from Texere Yarns, I like the fact that you can buy this yarn in small quantities (1 spool is 20m), which makes it perfect for small projects and embellishments..

DSC_0414

I managed only 2 squares, and here they are:

squares

I thought it would be easy, but.. I haven’t crocheted for so long that I forgot how to do it..

The cute owl pattern comes from Repeat Crafter Me blog, which is just awesome in terms of crochet patterns. The instructions are easy to follow, but half way through the pattern I managed to lose the plot (I told you I’m not good at crocheting) and started improvising, so it’s not exactly as it was intended..

DSC_0419

For the second square I found this video on YouTube:

As it appeared it’s easier for me to follow video rather then written instructions.. I changed the pattern a bit while working on it:

DSC_0422

That’s all for now, I have to go back to knitting, which I feel more comfortable with :)

Thanks for looking and have a nice day!

2 thoughts on “A bit of crocheting…

  1. The squares are gorgeous Julia! Thanks so much for joining in! The little owl is definitely going to put a smile on the winner’s face! Good luck with the draw! Hugs, Jill x

Leave a Reply

