Creative Stitches & Hobbycrafts show or Mr. Darcy shirt..

Yesterday I went to Creative Stitches & Hobbycrafts show in London, and I’m still buzzing!  The show was literally packed with craft supplies of all kinds, fantastic exhibitions of designers and textile artists, workshops and demonstrations.. Fantastic and totally overwhelming!

By the way, I noticed that the longest queue was formed to buy fabric, and I heard a lady asking whether they had a “car fabric” – that’s what “Sewing Bee” doing to people :)

As I already said there is a lot to see there, I just want to share a couple of my highlights..

First,  a knitting project by designer Alison Murrauy ‘Above & Below the Waves’. Everything is knitted here!Above and below the waves

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

How cool is this knitted marine world?!!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And the Yellow Submarine:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Totally awesome!

Another highlight: an exhibition of “Jane Austen costumes” from different period dramas..

Emma Thompson’s dress from Sense and Sensibility:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Gwyneth Paltrow’s dress from Emma and Billie Piper’s one from Mansfield Park:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And, finally, Colin Firth’s-Mr. Darcy costume… Yes, it is THAT SHIRT!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And on that pleasant note, I’m going to end my post… :)

5 thoughts on “Creative Stitches & Hobbycrafts show or Mr. Darcy shirt..

  1. Glad you enjoyed your day – I was in London yesterday and was going to pop along but my meeting went on too long. Did you buy anything? I always spend a fortune at these things as get tempted by all the lovely fabric, wool etc.

    • I did buy some little crafty bits and bobs, but I was very good – I didn’t buy any fabric! :) You are right – there are so many temptations! I’m glad that it was more a source of inspiration and ideas for me then shopping.. It’s a shame I didn’t get a chance to book any workshops as it was extremely busy…

  2. Pingback: A bit of cross stitching | Foam of Days

Leave a Reply

