The last of summer dresses..

I made this summer knit dress in the end of august.

DSC_0791

I wasn’t in love with my first jersey dress, but, surprisingly, I wore it a lot and had lots of compliments :) It’s so comfortable that I decided to make another dress from jersey.

The fabric was bought some time ago on the spur of the moment, I couldn’t resist it, somehow its print reminded me of Escher painting with butterflies..

I combined it with black jersey as 1 metre of border print (symmetrical border on both sides) material is just not enough for even a short dress (what was I thinking when buying just 1 metre?)

I chose this pattern from Burda magazine 07/2009:

thumb_800x600_10

This time I decided to pay more attention to instructions, and to make things “properly” (I never usually do..). Following Burda instructions,  I bought iron-on Vilene Bias Tape from Minerva Craft for stabilising neckline, armholes and shoulder seams. (Next time I want to try using elastic tape..)

DSC_0567

Now about the pattern.. As it is mentioned on PatternReview, this dress is huge! I made both back and front pieces 10cm more narrow, and even after that I had to take in side seams quite a lot! The neckline initially was too low, and I had to shorten the pattern too..

DSC_0782

I used this pattern only because it seemed appropriate for combining two different types of fabric, I wouldn’t have gone for it otherwise..

DSC_0798a

Anyway, after all alterations, it came out more or less ok, not hugely flattering, but very comfortable.. I’m glad that I didn’t ruin that pretty butterfly fabric after all :)

DSC_0813

DSC_0796

DSC_0819a

Pictures were taken at Chiswick House and Garden , such a nice place to spend a day out!

DSC_0856

Baby swan

Thanks for looking and have a nice day!

8 thoughts on “The last of summer dresses..

  1. Actually, I think this dress is quite flattering to you! Just like your first knit dress, I bet you end up wearing it a lot and getting tons of compliments on it. I love that butterfly border print too. :)

  2. Oh, your dress, and you in it; look so pretty! I love that butterfly border and how you used it; very nicely done! Cute picture with the cygnet too; it is baby bird season in my part of the world at the moment and we are getting lots of cygnets and ducklings on the river. Cuteness incarnate :)

  3. I really like the dress and the fabric. It looks great on you. Many times I have issues with the burda patterns and how big they are. Maybe we are petit ;)

  4. I really like this! Quick query please. I’m having trouble with a similar jersey fabric neckline and thinking of using vilene bias tape but confused about how to do this. How did you finish the neck hem off? Did you just fold over the taped fabric and topsew? I’d really appreciate your reply – thanks. Clare

Leave a Reply

