Faux fur collar gilet

I made this gilet back in autumn. In November we visited Arundel castle – a beautiful medieval castle, about an hour and a half drive from London. I used this opportunity to show off my new gilet, although the day was quite cold with showers, and in the end I got completely frozen!

DSC_1055

The castle is currently closed till April and we managed to visit it on the last day of opening season.. I imagine the gardens must look magnificent in the spring, but even on a gloomy autumn day the gardens and grounds didn’t fail to impress..

DSC_1116DSC_1090

DSC_1108

I knitted this gilet using Patons UK Silenzio Chunky wool, and I couldn’t believe how quickly it came up (don’t you like knitting with  super bulky and soft wool?) I made up the pattern myself (initially it was meant to be a cardigan, but I didn’t have enough yarn – usual story..)

DSC_1105DSC_1103

I made a collar from a faux fur scarf bought on sale specifically for this project.DSC_1106

I’m shivering from cold on those photos:

DSC_1199DSC_1204DSC_1208

The interesting thing about this gilet, it’s absolutely seamless! It was knitted as one piece:

DSC_1040

I also used grafting technique for joining shoulder edges:

DSC_1041

You see – no shoulder seam!

DSC_1379

A close up:

DSC_1155

The buttons:

DSC_1392

I quite like how it turned out, I like the blend of autumn colours, the softness and the fur collar..

And I highly recommend visiting Arundel Castle and Gardens – I will definitely go there again!

DSC_1060

Rhea bird greeting visitors at the entrance of the castle

Thanks for looking and have a great day!

8 thoughts on “Faux fur collar gilet

Leave a Reply

