Liebster award and madeleines on Easter day…

 This Easter Sunday I had a surprising message from Kim from The Material Lady who nominated me for a Liebster Blog Award. Normally, I’m quite sceptical about those awards that spread around like a chain letter… but to receive it from such a cool lady like Kim, who is a sewer, a knitter and a scuba diver.. well, is quite flattering :)

I was asked to answer a few questions (thank you Kim for making it simple!) and I am supposed to pass this nomination to 5 other bloggers with less than 200 followers (although I have no idea how to find out the number of somebody’s blog followers..)

I am quite boring conversationalist, but will try my best to answer questions from Kim:

1. Where would you most like to be today.
Exactly where I am –  at home, on the sofa, chilling out over a cup of tea and madeleines, listening to the rain outside..

2. And with whom (alive or dead – it’s an imaginary day!)
With my dog, Jessie the beagle. She’s curled up in a ball using my knitting as a cushion..

3. What would you be doing (keep it clean – this isn’t that sort of blog!)
See 1.

4. What was the last book you read – and did you like it
It was Fermat’s Last Theorem by Simon Singh (I told you I’m boring!) I can’t believe this book is not on  Goodreads! It is a fascinating story about  probably the most famous and notorious mathematical theorem and mathematicians who contributed to the proof that took 300 years to complete.. Would highly recommend!

5.What skill would you most like to have.
I would like to have a tiny Babel fish in my ear (the one from “The  Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy“), a universal translator, so I can understand any language  (although I doubt it can be regarded as a skill…)

And now blogs that I want to nominate for a Liebster Award:

1. Barbara Jane Made, a blog by  a sewing and surfing lady from Canberra

2. Maryall Made,  a new blog by a self-taught sewer  (Mariana’s having an amazing  giveaway on her blog right now!)

3. Tomatoes and Jasmine, a blog by a stylish lady who does gardening + sewing + knitting in Tokyo.

4. Etsy Addict, a blog by a very young sewing lady from New Zealand.

5. PearlBox, a blog by a multitalented lady from Greece who has a very cute dog

It’s up to my nominees whether to follow the “rules” of this award, in any case, just regard this as a sign of my appreciation…

If you want to follow the rules, here they are copied from The Material Lady blog:

Thank the person who gave you the award, linking back to that person’s blog
Copy and paste the Liebster award to your own profile
Answer the 5 questions your nominator asked
Pick 5 blogs you feel deserve to be noticed (they have to have under 200 followers)
Ask them 5 questions
Let your nominees know they have been chosen by leaving a comment on their blog

I  don’t have enough imagination to make up 5 questions, instead just tell us a story about your skill, hobby or just a favourite thing that you haven’t blogged before..

And now about madeleines.. I came across madeleines first while reading Proust, who is one of my favourite authors. I read all of his volumes apart from the last one Time Regained (just couldn’t find it at the time). One day I want to do a Proust marathon and read all of the books back to back..

Anyway, the famous episode of the madeleine made those little french teacakes the most famous cookies in literature. Where I grew up, we didn’t have any madeleines, so I never knew what exactly helped the protagonist of the story to evoke his involuntary memory.. And then one day I found this recipe in an old english cooking book:baking

This recipe brought back memories about the book I read and loved.. I decided  to try the recipe sometime… well, I’m ashamed to say it took me 9 years to actually try it..

I made madeleines for the first time this Easter Sunday, and it was the first time I ever tried madeleines..
I am not that good at baking, so was quite surprised that they turned out just great!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well, not exactly as photogenic as Mary Berry’s madeleines.. but so irresistibly delicious! Crispy on outside and soft on inside.. loved them!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have bought one of those special madeleine trays:

41t2vD4eUaL._SY355_To achieve the “authentic” shape..  I like that they look like a boat from the side:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

and like a sea shell if you turn them over… well, kind of.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I followed the recipe above, apart from it took only about 10 mins to bake (not 20). They are best to be eaten straight away, although I didn’t dip them into tea as French do (at least that’s how the Marcel Proust’s character ate them in the novel)…

 Hope you have had a nice Easter break!

10 thoughts on “Liebster award and madeleines on Easter day…

  1. Nice to discover new blogs and I didn’t realize your dog was a beagle!
    Soon it’ll be my turn to pick a book club book so I may just look into your recommendation. BTW, how clever do I have to be to get it’ 8O

    • Hi Marianna! If you mean “Fermat’s Last Theorem”, it’s not mathematically “heavy” at all. You don’t even need to remember all your GCSE maths to enjoy the story. It’s not so much about maths as about people in the world of mathematics, and their true stories are more fascinating than fiction..

  2. Pingback: Liebster blog award! | barbarajanemade

  3. Thank so much for nominating me! The madeleines look delicious and so cool they look like sea shells. Reading fermats last theorem doesnt seem uncool to me, sounds facinating.

  4. Pingback: The Liebster Award | navybluethreads

  5. Pingback: Liebster award | thesewingfrenchie

Leave a Reply

