People are not wearing enough hats..

.. or Royal Ascot DIY hat

That was my first attempt of making a hat.. ok, a headpiece .. and I totally enjoyed it..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Supplies.. I didn’t use the plastic band in the end, I used a clear plastic comb instead

A couple of hours later..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The result

I wanted to wear cherries on my head as I had this lovely vintage style dress from Oasis with cherries all over it.. I love cherries! (both as a fruit and as a print)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ready for Ascot

It was my first time going to Ascot, and we were so lucky with the weather :) I think it was one of the hottest days we had in June..

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My DIY headpiece managed to stay in place for the whole time, and I even had a couple of compliments on my outfit from total strangers!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And what a display of hats it was! If I were to give a prize for the most creative/amusing hat, it would be this Octopus creation: (I couldn’t take a better picture as the lady was walking too fast, and when you are on a second pitcher  of Pimm’s your reaction slows down a bit..)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Now I’m hooked on hats! I’m thinking about making another one.. for the next year :)

And here is to people wearing more hats :)

2014-06-21 12.29.23

 

6 thoughts on “People are not wearing enough hats..

  1. You have done such a good job with this little headpiece, especially getting the scale of the cherries to work so well with your lovely dress. And I agree that more people should wear hats. Making them yourself is the way to go as the really nice ones are so expensive (and the chain store “fascinators” are anything but). I look forward to seeing your next one.

Leave a Reply

